This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

SQL server? - new to all of this

Oct 4, 2013 at 2:00 AM
Hi all, I am very interested in using OGAMA to identify where people focus on with graphic design. I have installed OGAMA on Win7 and ran it for the first time and go the message - "SQL Instance not found" Please specify the correct name for the running SQl Server instance". I am not a programmer by any means and have no Idea what this is. I did a quick Google search and found SQLExress on a Microsoft site. Its a web platform installer, not sure what that is. Yes I am that ignorant regarding these things.

http://www.microsoft.com/web/platform/database.aspx

Is this something I simply need to download and install?

Do I need a second computer running to use OGAMA?

Are there any good video tutorials out there that can walk me through using this?

Hope you can help.

Riptyde.
Oct 4, 2013 at 7:02 PM
Edited Oct 4, 2013 at 7:02 PM
Hi Riptyde,

you can use the webplatform installer or any other option of installing an sqlexpress instance.
Just browse the web on "install SQL express 2008" on how to do it.
Do I need a second computer running to use OGAMA?
This depends on your tracking device and tracking setup. In most of the setups, you will only use one machine.
Are there any good video tutorials out there that can walk me through using this?
No. But if you have successfully managed to get it up and running there are surely other users which would be thankful if you create one for them!
Thanks in advance, share it with us, I will link it once it is done, just leave me a message.

Kind regards, Adrian
Oct 5, 2013 at 1:29 AM
Thanks for the reply Adrian.

You specifically mention SQL EXPRESS 2008. Is there a reason for that specific version.

The link I provided above leads to the page for a download
http://www.microsoft.com/web/downloads/platform.aspx