This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

DATA IMPORT (fixation import, stimuli import post data-recording)

Jul 11, 2013 at 6:30 PM
So I've been working with remote eye tracking for a few months now, and I am finally (finally) in the process of data analysis. To get to this step, I was forced to take a couple odd turns. First, I couldn't figure out how to get the slide show module to work with my task design. This was fine. I'd simply realized that for the level of complexity I wanted to achieve in my task, OGAMA simply wasn't the best fit. However, I still wanted to implement remote eye-tracking, where ITU gazetracker is the best open source remote tracker, and within OGAMA, ITU performs at its best.

What I did was write a simple UDP listener in python and had it listen to the network which I could enable in the ITU settings within OGAMA. Basically, I'd set up, calibrate and turn on the network assistant in OGAMA and then run the python script and my eye data was sent directly to a .txt doc of my choice.

This worked swimmingly.

Now however, I want to take the data and reinput it into OGAMA for analysis. This process, I believed would work if I imported my X,Y data and time into OGAMA. However, (as you might be able to surmise) this only brought the data in as raw data, and I was unable to use any of OGAMA's fantastic modules. I realized I'd have to either calculate my own fixations (something I don't yet know how to do) and import them into the software.

Then I got to thinking, what if DO record in OGAMA? It would calculate fixations for me, and if I wanted I could also use the python script to easily export the relevant X,Y,Time data just as before.

I attempted this and it worked, simultaneous data recording from two separate locations (mind you, a timestamp issue comes into play as I know not how to simultaneously start OGAMA and my python script)